Favorite Photo Blogs: Part 2

Posted on February 18, 2012

0


I love to be inspired and sometimes, since being able to go out and take pictures every day is not an option, I have my favorite photo blogs that I follow to keep me in the artistic frame of mind.  I am doing a series on my own blog highlighting my favorite sites across the web.  Here is part two:

 

Favorite Photo Blogs: Most Interesting Newspaper/Magazine Photo Blogs
1. The Los Angles Times Framework Photography Blog
The LA Times Framework Blog is one of my favorite sites to visit to view the news in photos.  Photojournalism has never been my forte since I am admittedly more passive about my work and rarely take photos involving people, however I have the utmost respect for photojournalists and the work they do.  I love the LA Times’s “This Week In Pictures” which highlights news from the US and around the world.  Not only do the photos show the news from a different perspective, but they are stunning as well.  I find this way to find out the week’s new much more profound than watching it on TV or reading it on the web.
2.  The New York Times Lens
The NY Times Lens is a blog that I visit almost daily.  Showcasing photos of the day from their own photojournalists and across the web, their content is diverse and interesting.
I think the Lens website describes itself the best:

“Lens is the photography blog of The New York Times, presenting the finest and most interesting visual and multimedia reporting — photographs, videos and slide shows. A showcase for Times photographers, it also seeks to highlight the best work of other newspapers, magazines and news and picture agencies; in print, in books, in galleries, in museums and on the Web”- Lens website

Also, they have the most amazing array of archived photos and events, so no matter what you are looking for, you are bound to find it here.

3. The New Yorker Photo Booth
The New Yorker Photo Booth truly reads in a blog format, which is one of my favorite aspects of this site.  Each day there is a new post from a different blogger.  The content is unique and features either archived or current photography.  I love that each photo spread has an accompanying story and the tone and style is always different depending on the blogger.  A deviation from some of the other magazine/newspaper blogs in its content and style.

So those are my top three Newspaper and Magazine blogs.  I know to some they seem cliche because these are arguablely some of top newspapers/magazines in the nation, but that’s why they are so wonderful.  They have the resources and time to make some truly wonderful blogs.  They convey current topics through photos in a way that others cannot.

Do you agree?  Check out these blog sites and give me your feedback.  Do you know of other newspaper/magazine photo blogs that blow you away like these did to me?  Also, stay tuned, my next Favorite Blog post is about unconventional photo blogs out there… I have a couple ideas, but am open to suggestions.

Happy Blogging!
%A.L. Kohlmann – A.L. Kohlmann Imagery

PS.  A.L. Kohlmann Imagery is now on Facebook (“Like” the page to the right —>),
Twitter (@alkohlmannphoto) and Pinterest!

Posted in: Uncategorized