A Visit to Frank Lloyd Wright’s Unity Temple

Posted on February 27, 2012

0



Hi Everyone –
Taking a break from blog reviews to actually finally post some photos!  I know, it’s been a while.  I did some personal photo shoots over the holidays and then life got overly stressful.  I just read an article at the Digital Photography School about whether people are photography “bingers” or “snackers,” meaning they take large volumes of photos every few weeks or they take photos almost every day.  I have to admit, I’m a binger…but I wish I were more of snacker. 
Anyway, today I binged and I did this at one of the coolest places possible – the Frank Lloyd Wright Unity Temple in Oak Park, Illinois.  The design for the Unity Temple was started in 1905 by Wright to provide “a new Unitarian Universalist Church to replace one lost to fire.” The Temple was built between 1906 and 1908 on a small budget and is crafted primarily of concrete.  It seems crude but it translates as sleek and beautiful.
The Unity Temple is still a functioning facility and the Unity Temple Restoration Foundation (UTRF) has been working tirelessly for years to raise money to preserve this treasure.  Thanks to UTRF’s handout, I was able to provide a lot of the information about the history of the Unity Temple in this post.  I recommend visiting their website for even more history and about their restoration efforts.  Also, take a few minutes to listen to this great PODCAST done by NPR in the Unity Temple about Wright and his work there.  As for my own experience today at the Unity Temple,
I found it both calming and exciting.  The
architecture was amazing, as was the beautiful design of the stainglass windows.  The colors were warm and inviting and even though it is a church, I felt like it did not mind me photographing it.  It was a wonderful experience.  If you are ever in the Chicagoland area, it is a must see.
In the mean time, enjoy a sampling of my photoset from today.
%A.L. Kohlmann of A.L. Kohlmann Imagery
Also, Please click the box to the Right to “Like” my fan page on Facebook!
Posted in: Uncategorized