Textures Work for Fine Art Photos Too!

Posted on March 24, 2012

0



I have to admit, I’m a textures addict.  Seriously, it’s bad.  More often than not I come across textures being used to enhance potraiture photography.  I’ve tried it on some pictures I’ve taken of family and friends and the results are amazing.  I’m doing this post however to illustrate that these textures are much, much more diverse and can be used in Fine Art Photography as well.

I’ve pulled some photos of mine and did quick before and after comparisons to show how textures can enhance an image.  Now, I did these quite quickly and if I were prepping something for sale, I would spend time being a tad more meticulous, however I just want to show what you can do with these awesome add-ons.  Now I also know many of you may prefer the “Before” and hey, that’s totally okay – I like them too!  But the “After”s have a little something special.

[[Click on the images to enlarge]]

So what are your thoughts?  Do you feel the textures enhanced the photos?

In the Industry Before and After, the texture gave the image a painted, grungy feel, which I personally like due to the nature of the photo.  In the Galena Before and After, the sky was cloudless that day, so by adding the cloud texture, you add another layer of visual interest.

I recommend you check these out for your own work.  If only to play around with how they work.

I recommend:

La La Land Designs – This is an awesome blog that is about to launch their own website.  They have occasional free textures and the paid collections are very affordable.  They also have a YouTube channel that explains how this all works.  They have awesome costumer service and Lindsay is great!  They are officially my favorite!  This site also offers Elements and Light Room presets, brushes, etc.

Shadowhouse Creations – This is a blog that offers free textures, fonts, etc.  The site has an area for donations, but for the time being does not charge for their materials.  Only down side is that there really isn’t explanation on how to use textures, so you are on your own.

Both of these are great starting places for textures.  I hope you enjoy them!  And if you use them in your fine art photography, link me to your image so I can check it out!  I’d love to see how other artists are using these.

