Guest Blogging and a Before & After Treat.

Posted on May 5, 2012

1



Recently, my friend from college and fellow blogger, photographer, and writer Sara of Moments of Exhilaration nominated me to be a week long guest blogger on the site ‘Vie hebdomadaires‘.  The concept of this blog is very cool and I am honored to be a part of a running dialogue.  Basically, the goal is to have a different blogger every week that talks about their life – in general, as a blogger, etc.  It’s an open forum for discussion and reads as a almost a diary of people across the world.

I thought long and hard when I was nominated about what I could blog about.  I obviously spend a lot of time blogging about photography, hence this site and my re-launch of my website in the future, but that did feel good enough.  As many of you know, I keep my personal life very private due to the nature of the job I do outside of my photography.  I decided that it was time to talk about the real reasons I am so passionate about photography – that means opening up about who I am, what I do, and how photography plays a role in my life… all while maintaining as much confidentiality as possible.  It was a challenge and my posts are generally set for the upcoming week.  I cannot remember the last time I wrote something so serious.

So, I invite you all to visit the Vie hebdomadaires blog and take a look around.  My friend Sara is ending her week of blogging there now.  She has some great things to say about parenting.  My week begins Monday, May 7th, so if you are interested in what I have to say, I recommend that you follow the blog to get each post as they come throughout the week.  On Wednesday the 9th I will nominate my next blogger.  I have someone in mind and I pray that she is willing to commit this great opportunity.

Also, I know I’ve been on a photographic hiatus lately.  I am supposed to be working on my 2nd license to become a counselor, but the process is becoming tedious.  With that said, to break up the monotony of that, I have been playing around with some old work.  I used to be such a purist with my art – only making a few tweaks – and generally I think that still rings true.  However occasionally I go a little wild and play with my favorite things – textures!  This is a straight out of a camera and an after photo.  I just ordered the after in a 16×20 matte print and it’s screaming for a huge frame.  I read a blog once that said that if you photograph flowers, that it is a sign you are an amateur.  I disagree.  Photograph what makes you happy.  The end game in this photo, for me, is a timeless vintage look that will fit beautifully anywhere in my home.  It makes me happy and that’s all that matters.

So… it’s nice to be back, if only for a short while.  I hope you follow my week of blogging and enjoy my before and after.  I apologize for how squished they are in their frames, but I think you get the general idea.

